Photo of sunset from LC

View from the Commons: “A Colorful Sky”

by Arwa Alibrahim

At the beginning of 2016, while looking through the Learning Commons windows at the colorful, beautiful sky of February, I stopped for a moment to think: What do I really need to be accomplished? What must I do to be satisfied?

Especially as an international student who left home and family behind on the other side of the earth–the “Middle East”–I asked myself is all that distance and longing for my people back home worth it? Then, I suddenly smiled as I see my dreams coming true.

Honestly, I am so happy, and perhaps one of the happiest people around at least. I can’t believe that I am now striving with one of my biggest dreams; studying abroad. Although I am achieving it a little late at thirty years old, I truly can’t suppress my good feeling and how proud I am to be here at Marywood and get the opportunity to have such an experiment. All I want to say right now is a few words:

Do not tell your dreams to those who are pessimistic…

If you have to tell somebody, tell those who can build them up with you, or at least to those who encourage you to do so…

Sometimes you really do not need anyone, you just need you…

Because you have the strongest power…

More significantly, no one understands you as you do… No one loves you as you do…

All you need is to believe in yourself, then, GO!

 


Arwa Alibrahim is an international student perusing her master degree in Higher Education Administration program at Marywood University. She enjoys reading, writing, and drawing. She originally has a scholarship from Saudi Arabia Cultural Mission. She expects to complete the degree in May 2017. One of her objective to study abroad is to learn a new educational systems to be part of the educational development in Saudi Arabia in the near future. 

Leave a Reply

