Rescued Books & Book Sale Treasures

by Annette Fisher, Information Literacy Librarian

Think for a moment:


What book(s) would I take with me if I only had five minutes to evacuate my surroundings or home?

Nicolas and Alexandra by Robert K. Massie

Nicolas and Alexandra by Robert K. Massie

On June 23, 1972, I made that decision when the Susquehanna River decided to make landfall in my house.  As the dirty water lapped the steps, all I could do was think and grab.  During those frantic moments of getting 9 people into an old red station wagon, I just knew I had to grab the latest book I took from the Wyoming Free Library, Nicholas and Alexandra, the massive tome by Robert K. Massie. I let my parents worry about grabbing the 18-month old and the 3-year old; I couldn’t get an overdue fine at the library—that would be mortifying!

After all, becoming a librarian was on my short list of college majors. Obeying the borrowing policy, I did return the Massie book one dry day. The librarian was surprised the book made its way home, something about the staff thinking the book went with the flood waters along with refrigerators and dryers.  So, I lost all my earthly possessions to the Agnes Flood but I would not surrender the Romanovs to Agnes.

 

The Prophet by Kahlil Gabrin

The Prophet by Kahlil Gabrin

44 years later I ask myself the same question.  Definitely not Nicholas and Alexandra (although I spied a copy at the book sale).  I don’t own that book and it would be bad karma.  My choice(s) now would be Letters to a Young Poet by Rainer Maria Rilke and The Prophet by Kahlil Gibran.  For sentimental reasons I would grab my children’s “Write and illustrate your Own Book” books –these treasures aren’t found on Amazon—they are upstairs in the bookcase near the ski boots.

Letters to a Young Poet by Rainer Maria Rilke

Letters to a Young Poet by Rainer Maria Rilke

 

Now, let’s hear your 5 minutes to flee, disaster-scenario book picks…

And…did you find any treasures at the Learning Commons Book Sale?

Leave a Reply

